Good Times

I feel like I’m not old enough to be able to look back at my life and think “wow, those were the best times.”In fact, I can’t even pinpoint the best day of my life. There have been those days were I feel like everything went smoothly, but they don’t qualify as the best. Perhaps, there is one day that does stand above the others. It happened two summers ago.

My family was on a cruise through Europe and our next stop was in Scotland. Most of my ancestors came from Scotland, so I was thrilled to get back to my roots. The day before we were set to dock, I got food poisoning from the cruise ships food. I was camped out in the bathroom for the entire day. I was worried I wasn’t going to be well enough to get off the ship.

Miraculously, the next morning I woke up healthy and ready to go. We got off the ship and headed to Loch Ness, home of the famous Nessie. I was beyond thrilled and couldn’t wait to get there. When we arrived my dad bought me a stuffed Nessie and a t-shirt. We bought tour tickets and waited for the time to go out on the lake.

The slightly rainy sky and the mist over the lake, set the mood for an adventure. When we got on the research vessel, the captain told us we were the only people he had scheduled for the tour. We had the entire boat to ourselves. As we cruised around the lake I marveled at the eeriness of it and watched the sonar equipment for signs of Nessie.

As we headed back, the captain turned to me and asked if I wanted to pilot the ship. Of course I jumped at the opportunity. I took the wheel and found myself driving the research vessel across Loch Ness. It was a child hood dream come true.

Looking back on that day, I felt like I had accomplished a life goal, and made an amazing new memory.

Leave a Reply

