Try It Thursday

It seems that all parents complain about these days is how often teenagers spend on technology. But, we can’t help it. We have grown up in a world full of computers, television and phones. They grew up in a world full of… well a world full of whatever they had back then. So, how can then blame us for always texting or getting on Facebook? Looking at if from their perspective I can see how they could get annoyed. I mean, the only thing they ever see of us is the top of our heads, as we hunch over our phones playing Subway Surfer. In fact most of our day is spent staring at a screen. We’re spending all of our time socializing with our friends and not our family. So, in analyzing all of this, I begin to see why parents nag us so much about turning off the technology. I’ve noticed in my own life that by stepping away from the screen, I’ve been able to get a lot more done.

So, I’ve decided to voice a proposal, one that may not be very popular. I say that for one day a week, teens should turn off their electronic devices. No texting, Facebook, Youtube, or TV. In that one day, some of you may be surprised in what you may accomplish. In my own experiment without using technology I found that I got all of my homework done before five o’clock. Not only that, but I had time to take my dog on a long walk, help with dinner, and study for up coming tests. I’m not saying that teen’s should be forced to give up technology, but try it for a day and see how it benefits you.

Leave a Reply

