If Life Was a Movie

Out of the haze of a hot summer day comes a man dressed in suit and tie. He zooms by on a high class motorcycle with a metal case in his hand. Three seconds later two other people on motorcycles fly by. They quickly catch up to the other man and seem desperate to ram him off the road. The sharp dressed lad flings the briefcase at the head of one of the motorcycle riders. It misses by nearly an inch. The other rider takes this opportunity to grab on to the back of the mans suit and yank him off his ride. You watch as the hero goes tumbling, over and over on the ground. There’s no way he’ll be okay. Or is there? In utter astonishment you watch him slowly get up off the road, brush the dust off his suit and proceed to get back on his motorcycle to track down the villains.  Now, wait a second, time out. Doesn’t this all seem a bit… unreal? That’s because it is. Life doesn’t happen the way it does in movies. In reality, being flung off a motorcycle at a high speed would kill you! And, when was the last time you heard of a huge motorcycle chase on the local news? I’m guessing not recently. That’s because our life isn’t a movie. I admit it would be cool that if every time I had a bad day some mellow song would start playing. And I can almost guarantee that just about every girl wants a romance like the ones on the big screen. But, would life really be as fun as it looks in movies? Honestly, I feel like it’d get a little predictable. Too many times I have sat in a theater and groaned as the film ended in a way I thought it would when the movie started. Plus, most movies are like a roller coaster. Just at the time a character has reached their peak, something terrible happens that makes them go crashing down. I could only imagine the anxiety that would give me. Just when things are going good, I have to worry about the worse. Even though I still think about how my life would be if it were a movie, I think I’ll hand that false reality over to the characters on the silver screen.

Leave a Reply

